top of page

Research Axes

The researchers of QUBIC undertake studies in three domains of biophysics. These research domains are applied to a variety of biological questions in different fields, including microbiology, biology and neuroscience.

Axis 1:

Biological Systems Theory

To understand the complex mechanisms governing biological systems, we have to design mathematical models that describe and predict the behaviour of these systems. The understanding of these systems allows us to identify the regulatory mechanisms in the native system. 

Axis 2:

Biophotonics and Experimental Technologies

Biophysics is concerned with obtaining quantitative data from biological systems. To achieve this, cutting-edge technologies, in particular imaging techniques, have to be developed to push the frontier of what can be visualized and quantified ever further. 

Axis 3:

Quantitative Biology of Complex Systems

Cutting-edge techniques developed in Axis 2 are used to explore new frontiers in various complex biological systems to understand the underlying mechanisms in more detail and obtain quantifiable data to feed into the models developed in axis 1.

weberlab.ca
bottom of page

top of page

Axes de recherche

Les chercheurs de CUBIQ mènent des recherches dans trois domaines de la biophysique. Ces domaines de recherche sont appliqués à une variété de questions biologiques dans les différents domaines, y compris la microbiologie, la biologie et les neurosciences.

Axe 1 :

Théorie des systèmes biologiques

Pour comprendre les mécanismes complexes régissant les systèmes biologiques, nous devons concevoir des modèles mathématiques qui décrivent et prédisent le comportement de ces systèmes. La compréhension de ces systèmes nous permet d'identifier les mécanismes de régulation dans le système natif.

Axe 2 :

Biophotonique et technologies expérimentaux

La biophysique vise à obtenir des données quantitatives à partir de systèmes biologiques. Pour cela, des technologies de pointe, notamment des techniques d'imagerie, doivent être développées pour repousser toujours plus loin la frontière du visualisable et du quantifiable.

Axe 3 :

Biologie quantitative des systèmes complexes

Des techniques de pointe développées dans l'axe 2 sont utilisées pour explorer de nouvelles frontières dans divers systèmes biologiques complexes afin de comprendre plus en détail les mécanismes sous-jacents et d'obtenir des données quantifiables pour alimenter les modèles développés dans l'axe 1.

 

weberlab.ca
bottom of page